Taking My Talents to South Beach…

OK, so maybe I’m not taking my talents to South Beach.  The phrase came to mind when I thought about writing a new post, though, and it made me laugh.  It’s one of those phrases that will probably be infamously quoted for a long time.  It’s kind of like “Don’t Mess With Texas,” a phrase popularized by our 43rd US President, George W. Bush.  Here we have a man holding one of, if not the most prestigious positions in the world using a phrase that sounds like a Toby Keith song.  In Lebron’s case, we have this sports “hero-turned-villain” alerting the world that he’s had enough of the lake effect and uses a phrase that sounds like a Will Smith song to announce his move to the Miami Heat.  I’m not moving, but I am bringing the blog out of retirement, and for the remainder of the NBA season I’ll be wearing the #45 jersey.

The jury’s still out for me when it comes to “blogging.”  On one hand, I really enjoy writing, putting my thoughts to paper…err…an Apple keyboard.  For me, like many, it’s therapeutic.  On the other hand, though, I continually think, “Who gives a rip about what I have to say?”  I know God does, but I don’t think the internet’s made it to Heaven yet.  They’re waiting on Bill Gates to kick-it before they make a decision on what operating system to use and what browser to install (rumor has it they’re tossing around the idea of using Netscape).  Anna’s been hounding me about updating my blog.  I think she just wants me to have an outlet for my lame and sometimes inappropriate comments so she doesn’t have to pretend to think I’m funny.  I’m sure I’ll thank her for this one day…

Anna and I were discussing the fact that March is almost over; that’s crazy! Hey, 2011, slow down.  This has led me to think about my goal(s) for 2011, though, and how I’ve been doing.  I’ve never been one to set goals at the turn of the year as I, like most, fail at following through.  We did set one goal this year:  when we dine out, we will try new restaurants and do our best to eat local.  I know it seems weak, but it’s manageable for us.  I had already registered for a half and full marathon, and things like sky-diving or mastering the art of the Bonsai Tree didn’t seem practical.  And, with restaurants like Scotty’s Brewhouse, Pizzology, Brugge Brasserie, Cafe Patachou, Oakley’s Bistro (and the list goes on), why not set a goal like this?  So far, it’s been a success.  We haven’t been disappointed with any of our restaurant choices and we still have a long list of eateries to try.

How are your 2011 goals progressing?  Did you set any goals?  Maybe you decided to save your goals for Lent.  I’d love to hear how the first quarter of 2011 has been for you.  Enjoy these last few days of March, and these first few days of Spring!

Thanks for stopping-by.

~CT

About Collin Trent

Faith.Family.Friends.Serve.Give.Love.Run.Live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking My Talents to South Beach…

  1. Ryan says:

    I like that goal… support local. Might have to add to our list.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Andrew Foreman says:

    I love your goal…please remember that eating local includes when you dine at a friends house, as long as it is in the state. I recall also thinking that 2011 was “The Year of the House” for you…a perfect follow up for 2010’s Year of the Pig. I know I tried to make it something special by including bacon in as many meals as I could.
    I just had another thought…eating local means supporting the “home grown” business in the location that you presently find yourself. Does that mean you have to travel the Kentucky for a bucket of KFC?…I smell a road trip.

Leave a Reply

