Giving Thanks…

Apparently, tomorrow is Thanksgiving. I thought it was Christmas given the amount of Christmas-related goods on the shelves at Costco. Don’t be fooled by “the man.” It’s still November.

I don’t have a lot to say in this post, but I wanted to put down a few things that I’m thankful for, and hear from you as well. Each year I tick-off a few repeats – my wife, family, friends, grace, forgiveness, fountain sodas, Speedy Rewards points (I’m up to 44,134 now…boo yah). I’m thankful that I can have a blog where I post once a quarter and no one chastises me, ha.

Two things came to mind this year, though, that I thought I’d share. First, the ability to run. As you may or may not know, I was in a serious “bicycle vs car” accident when I was 12-years-old. It could have ended my life; I was very fortunate to make it out alive let alone with the ability to still walk. I now love running. It’s hard to explain, and I don’t often try, but it’s something that I’ve found solace, confidence, and peace in doing. I’ll run the 2012 Boston Marathon, which is a dream come true. Hopefully I’ll continue to run for many years to come. I know time and age will play a role, but I’ll keep putting one leg in front of the other for as long as I can.

My second “item of thanks” is a little more broad and potentially vague. I can’t really put a label on it, and maybe that’s OK, but I’m extremely thankful for the life I have. Sure, there’s always wants, desires, and improvements to be made. I saw a movie last week for “Invisible Children,” though, and it totally rocked my world. It reminded me of how much injustice is still in our world, and how minimal some of my “problems” really are. Yes, we each experience difficult times in life, and each one of those experiences is unique to the individual. However, at least for myself, many of the difficulties I face/have faced pale in comparison to what large groups of people face on a daily basis. Whether it’s homelessness, hunger, racial and gender inequalities, dictatorship, etc, there’s some serious issues still existing in this world.

So, if you’re fortunate enough to gather tomorrow with family or friends, be sure to give thanks for the many blessings we experience on a daily basis. If you will not be gathering with anyone, know that I am thankful for you, even if I don’t know you. We all bring something of value to this world, and you are not exempt.

I’d love to hear what you’re thankful for. I find it encouraging and inspiring to read what others value in their lives. Happy Thanksgiving, friends. God bless.

Cheers,

Collin

About Collin Trent

Faith.Family.Friends.Serve.Give.Love.Run.Live.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving Thanks…

  1. Karen says:

    Very nice blog! Thank you for sharing and being so kind. I’m thankful for a lot of things but most thankful for my grandma, who is 88 years old, and the light of my life. She is a Godly woman, an inspiration and my best friend. Thanks again and have a wonderful Thanksgiving; enjoy your family!

Leave a Reply

